Quantcast

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Fun New Books From HarperCollins Children's Publishing

I love seeing new books from publishers!  These two look especially good.

For the Preschooler:


Baby Bear by Kadir Nelson

Age Range: 4 - 8 years

Grade Level: Preschool - 3

Hardcover: 40 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray (January 7, 2014)

Language: English

Genre: Picture Book



About the Book:

From Kadir Nelson, winner of the Caldecott Honor and the Coretta Scott King Author and Illustrator Awards, comes a transcendent picture book in the tradition of Margaret Wise Brown about a lost little bear searching for home.

This simple story works on so many levels: as the tale of a bear who finds his way home with the help of his animal friends; as a reassuring way to show children how to comfort themselves and find their way in everyday life; and on a more philosophical level, as a method of teaching readers that by listening to your heart and trusting yourself, you will always find a true home within yourself—and that even when it feels like you are alone, you never really are.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes & Noble






For the Middle Grade Reader:


The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone by Tony Abbott
Age Range: 8 - 12 years

Grade Level: 3 - 7

Series: Copernicus Legacy

Hardcover: 432 pages

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (January 7, 2014)

Language: English

 

 

 

About the Book:

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle-grade series the Copernicus Legacy begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past—before it's too late.
Supports the Common Core State Standards.


**Enter to win a trip to NYC and complete a real live quest hosted by Tony Abbott!  Visit www.thecopernicuslegacy.com to enter.**

6 comments:

  1. I'm excited to hear about Kadir Nelson's new picture book! His illustrations are so bold and powerful.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Both of these books look awesome! I love the cover of Baby Bear!

    The Forbidden Stone looks fabulous. I have read other books by Tony Abbot, so I look forward to reading this one too. Thanks for sharing!
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does look pretty good. I'm excited to read it when it gets to the library.

      Delete
  3. Oooh! The Forbidden Stone looks really good! I think my son would love that. I need to start a wish list of books just for him. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My kids are a little too young for The Forbidden Stone, but it does look good! I think I might just read it anyway. :)

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...